A gavel, keys, and alcoholic beverage

The Consequences of a DUI

Florida drivers can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if they have a blood alcohol level above 0.08 or refuse to take a field sobriety test. In addition to the severe safety hazards created by driving under the influence, a DUI carries serious legal consequences, even for first-time offenders.

 

First Florida DUI Conviction

 

First-time DUI offenders will receive a fine between $500 and $1,000 and up to six months in prison. This is increased to between a $1,000 and $2,000 fine and up to nine months imprisonment if the blood alcohol level was over 0.15 or a minor was in the vehicle.

In addition, the convicted person loses his or her license for at least 180 days and up to one year, or at least three years if bodily injury was involved. The vehicle can be impounded for up to 10 days.

 

In addition, the convicted person loses his or her license for at least 180 days and up to one year, or at least three years if bodily injury was involved. The vehicle can be impounded for up to 10 days.

 

Second Florida DUI Conviction


 
Second-time DUI offenders will receive a fine between $1,000 and $2,000 and up to nine months in prison. This is increased to a fine between $2,000 and $4,000 and up to 12 months imprisonment if the blood alcohol level was over 0.15 or a minor was in the vehicle. If the second offense takes place within five years of the first offense, 10 days imprisonment is mandatory.

 

Additionally, the person loses his or her license for five years, although he or she can apply for a hardship reinstatement in certain circumstances. The vehicle can be impounded for up to 30 days if the first offense was less than five years ago.

 

Third Florida DUI Conviction


 
A third DUI within 10 years of a prior conviction carries a fine of $2,000 to $5,000 and up to five years in prison. This is increased to a $4,000 minimum fine if the blood alcohol level was over 0.15 or if a minor was in the vehicle. If the third offense takes place within 10 years of the second offense, 30 days imprisonment is mandatory.

 

The offender will also lose his or her license for 10 years, although he or she can apply for a hardship reinstatement in certain circumstances. The vehicle can be impounded for up to 90 days if a previous offense was less than 10 years ago.

 

When a family member is arrested for DUI or another offense and bond is required for bail, loved ones need respectful, trustworthy assistance from Bob Barry Bail Bonds in Daytona Beach. Call (386) 258-6900 24 hours a day, seven days a week or complete our contact form for assistance.